Ayeyarwady Division

Ayeyarwady Region

Ayeyarwady Region is a region of Myanmar, occupying the delta region of the Ayeyarwady River (Irrawaddy River). It is bordered by Bago Region to the north, Bago Region and Yangon Region to the east, and the Bay of Bengal to the south and west. It is contiguous with the Rakhine State in the northwest.

The region lies between north latitude 15° 40' and 18° 30' approximately and between cast longitude 94° 15' and 96° 15'. It has an area of 35,140 square kilometres (13,566 sq mi). The population is over 6.5 million, making it the most populous of Burma’s states and regions. According to the National Census 2014 of Myanmar, there are 6175123 population in Ayeyarwady Region

Ayeyarwady Region is flanked by the Rakhine Yoma (Arakan Mountains) range in the west and large areas were cleared for paddy cultivation, leading to its preeminent position as the main rice producer in the country, a position it has retained into the 21st century.

It has also a number of lakes. Of the rivers branching out from the mighty Ayeyarwady, Ngawun, Pathein and Toe are famous.

The capital city of Ayeyarwady division is Pathein.

Chaungtha Beach and Ngwesaung Beach are popular resorts for both foreigners and Burma people. They are located in west side of Ayeyarwady Region, one hours distance from Pathein city and four hours from Yangon city by road transportation.


Ayeyarwady Region is heavily forested and wood products are an important component of the economy. The principal crop of Ayeyarwady Region is rice, and the division is called the “granary of Burma.” In addition to rice, other crops include maize, sesame, groundnut, sunflower, beans, pulses, and jute. Fishery is also important; Ayeyarwady Region produces fish, prawn, fish-paste, dry fish, dry prawn, and fish sauce.

Ayeyarwady Region also has considerable tourist potential. The city of Pathein has numerous historic sights and temples. Outside Pathein are the beach resorts of Chaungtha Beach and the lake resort of Inye Lake. Inye lake is located in Kyonpyaw township, 59 miles (95 km) north east of Pathein. Inye lake is also well known for fishery, as the major supplier of fresh water fish. Chaungtha is located in Pathein township. However, hotel and transportation infrastructure is still very poorly developed.


The Ayeyarwady delta region was traditionally part of the Mon kingdom. This area fell under Burmese (and occasional Rakhine) rule from the 11th century AD. Its subsequent history mirrors that of the rest of lower Burma.

Cyclone Nargis

The area was the site of heavy devastation when Cyclone Nargis made landfall in 2008.
Burma's state-controlled news media reported that Nargis left more than 66,000 people dead or missing after it struck the Irrawaddy Delta region May 2, unleashing torrential rains, 120 mph sustained winds and a 12-foot (3.7 m) storm surge. Foreign relief officials and diplomats said the death toll could exceed 100,000.

13°0′N98°45′E / 13.000°N 98.750°E
Country Myanmar
Region Lower
Capital Pathein
• Chief Minister Mahn Johnny (NLD)
• Legislature Ayeyarwady Region Hluttaw
• Total 35,140 km2(13,570 sq mi)
Area rank 10th
Population (2014)
• Total 6,184,829
• Rank 2nd
• Density 180/km2(460/sq mi)
• Ethnicities Bamar, Rakhine, Indians, Kayin
• Religions Buddhism, Christianity, Islam
Time zone MST (UTC+06:30)


Myanmar location


Myanmar location

Location of yangon State in Myanmar